Skip to Content

Eric Pankey Papers

Identifier: MS-MS-ms092

The Eric Pankey Papers consist of personal and professional correspondence (1984-1995); poetry drafts; materials toward Apocrypha, For the New Year, Heartwood, and This Reliquary World; manuscripts towards essays, readings, reviews, and introductions; manuscripts by others; notebooks and journals; print material; and various ephemera including reading announcements, photographs, clippings, and notes.


  • 1984-1995


Conditions Governing Access


Conditions Governing Use

Users of the collection must read and agree to abide by the rules and procedures set forth in the Materials Use Policies.

Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University.

If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or (Publish means quotation in whole or in part in seminar or term papers, theses or dissertations, journal articles, monographs, books, digital forms, photographs, images, dramatic presentations, transcriptions, or any other form prepared for a limited or general public.)


33.00 boxes

Biographical Information

Eric Pankey (1959 - ) is an American poet and artist. Born in Kansas City, Missouri, Pankey received his BA from the University of Missouri at Columbia (1981) and his MFA from the University of Iowa (1983). He then began teaching English at the high school level and writing poetry, essays, and reviews in his spare time. In 1987, Pankey joined the faculty of Washington University at St. Louis, where he served as Director of the Creative Writing Program.  He currently teaches in the Master of Fine Arts Program at George Mason University.

Pankey’s first collection of poems, For the New Year (1984), was selected as the winner of the Walt Whitman Award by the Academy of American Poets.  He is the author of Trace (2013); The Pear As One Example: New and Selected Poems, 1984—2008 (2008); Reliquaries (2005); Oracle Figures (2003); Cenotaph (2000); The Late Romances (1997); Apocrypha (1991); and Heartwood (1988).  His poems have also been published in several anthologies including Poets Against the War (2003) and The Poetry Anthology, 1912—2002 (2004). His essay, “Meditative Spaces," was included in Radiant Lyre: Essays on Lyric Poetry (2007). He is the editor of This Particular Eden: The 1992 Missouri Arts Council Writers’ Biennial and is the co-editor, along with Jeb Livingood, of Best New Poets 2006.

His honors include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and the Ingram Merrill Foundation.

Method of Acquisition

Accession number 1980. Purchase, May 11, 1994

Accession number 22909. Purchase, date unknown

Accession number 2013. 012. Gift of Eric Pankey, June 14, 2011

Accession number 2013. 013. Gift of Eric Pankey, December 17, 2012

Eric Pankey Papers
Description rules
Language of description

Revision Statements

  • 2021 April 14: Resource record updated in ArchiveSpace by Sarah Schnuriger.

Collecting Area Details

Part of the Manuscripts Collecting Area

Joel Minor
Olin Library, 1 Brookings Drive
MSC 1061-141-B
St. Louis MO 63130 US
(314) 935-5495