Skip to Content

River Styx Archive

Identifier: MS-MS-ms127

The River Styx Archive includes correspondence, biographies, ephemera, and miscellany material concerning individual River Styx contributors or Duff's/P.M. Series readers and performers; editorial, office-related and administrative, Board of Directors, University of Missouri - St. Louis, and financial crisis correspondence; material towards specific issues; material from Duff's Reading Series, P.M. Series, Poetry Beat radio program, and other River Styx events; business files; River Styx executive committee and Board of Directors information; and various ephemera.


  • Creation: 1973-2001


Conditions Governing Access


Conditions Governing Use

Users of the collection must read and agree to abide by the rules and procedures set forth in the Materials Use Policies.

Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University.

If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or (Publish means quotation in whole or in part in seminar or term papers, theses or dissertations, journal articles, monographs, books, digital forms, photographs, images, dramatic presentations, transcriptions, or any other form prepared for a limited or general public.)


68.00 boxes

Historical Information

River Styx is a literary journal founded in 1975 in St. Louis, Missouri under the editorship of Michael Castro and Jan Garden Castro. Important writers published by the magazine include David Meltzer, Jerome Rothenberg, Maurice Kenny, Joy Harjo, Terri McMillan, Quincy Troupe, Charles Simic, Howard Nemerov, Mona Van Duyn, Rita Dove, Robert Hass, Ted Kooser, Yusef Komunyakaa, Maxine Kumin, Stephen Dunn, Derek Walcott, Czeslaw Milosz, Rodney Jones, Molly Peacock, Albert Goldbarth, Ntozake Shange, Margaret Atwood, Li-Young Lee, Alan Shapiro, Richard Burgin, Jacob M. Appel, George Singleton, Gary Snyder, Robert Bly, John Barth, Tony Morrison, William H. Gass, and Allen Ginsberg. The magazine has also devoted several pages of each issue to artists including Michael Corr, Alejandro Romero, Lynda Frese, Emmet Gowan, John Slaughter, Patte Loper, Birney Imes, Virginia Beahan, Laura McPhee, Deborah Luster, Dana Moore, Benedict Fernandez, and Frank Shaw.

River Styx is produced by the literary organization, River Styx (originally Big River Association), incorporated as a not for profit organization in 1975, with Michael Castro as President. The organization also produces readings including the readings at Duff's Restaurant (1975-2012), now Tavern of Fine Arts and the River Styx PM series at the Missouri Botanical Garden (1979-1986).

River Styx has won several Stanley Hanks Prizes, awards from the Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines as well as grants and support from the National Endowment for the Arts, Missouri Arts Council, Regional Arts Commission, Missouri Humanities Council, and Arts and Education Council. Its poems and stories have appeared in Best American Poetry and New Stories from the South anthologies, Best New Poets, and The Pushcart Prizes: Best of the Small Presses.

Source of Acquisition

Donated by River Styx.

Related Materials

See also the Jan Garden Castro Papers and the Michael Castro Papers

River Styx Archive
Description rules
Language of description

Revision Statements

  • 2021 April 15: Resource record updated in ArchiveSpace by Sarah Schnuriger.

Collecting Area Details

Part of the Manuscripts Collecting Area

Joel Minor
Olin Library, 1 Brookings Drive
MSC 1061-141-B
St. Louis MO 63130 US
(314) 935-5495