Skip to Content

Shirley Seifert Papers

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS-MS-ms101

The Shirley Seifert Papers consists of one setting copy of Let My Name Stand Fair by Seifert, correspondence concerning its purchase, and one program.


  • 1955-1958


Conditions Governing Access


Conditions Governing Use

Users of the collection must read and agree to abide by the rules and procedures set forth in the Materials Use Policies.

Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University.

If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or (Publish means quotation in whole or in part in seminar or term papers, theses or dissertations, journal articles, monographs, books, digital forms, photographs, images, dramatic presentations, transcriptions, or any other form prepared for a limited or general public.)


1.00 boxes

Biographical or Historical Information

Shirley Seifert (May 22, 1888 – September 1, 1971) was an American writer. Born in St. Peters, Missouri, Seifert graduated from Washington University in 1909.  She was a member of Thrysus, the university’s student-run theatrical group with Fannie Hurst. After graduation she taught the St. Louis public schools, and during World War I she worked in the Liberty Loan office. She also taught fiction writing at Washington University and was active in Theta Sigma Phi, the women’s journalist’s society.

In 1919, Seifert published her first short story in American Magazine, “The Girl Who Was Too Good Looking.” She published her first historical novel, Land of Tomorrow, in 1937.  The Wayfarer, her 1938 novel, was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize. Some of Seifert’s other books include Captain Grant (1946), The Turquoise Trail (1950), Let My Name Stand Fair (1956) and A Key to St. Louis (1963).  With her sister Adele she wrote the mystery Death Stops at the Old Stone Inn (1938) and A History of the Grace Church in Kirkwood (1959).  

*Literary St. Louis: A Guide edited by Lorin Cuoco and William H. Gass

Source of Acquisition

Purchase from Shirley Siefert, October 10, 1958

Shirley Seifert Papers
Description rules
Language of description

Revision Statements

  • 2020 October 15: Resource record updated in ArchiveSpace by Sarah Schnuriger.

Collecting Area Details

Part of the Manuscripts Collecting Area

Joel Minor
Olin Library, 1 Brookings Drive
MSC 1061-141-B
St. Louis MO 63130 US
(314) 935-5495