Skip to Content

Harris Hatcher Collection on Wallace Stevens

 Collection — Box: VMF 20
Identifier: MS-VMF-vmf248

The Harris Hatcher Collection on Wallace Stevens consists of one piece of Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company letterhead and a framed photographic print of Stevens. Also included are limited editon books with letters of provenance, Ideas of Order (1935), Ideas of Order (1936), The Palm at the End of the Mind (1984), and Sur Ma Guzzla Gracile (Poetry, Volume 19, Number 1, 1921).


  • 1921-1935


Conditions Governing Access


Conditions Governing Use

Users of the collection must read and agree to abide by the rules and procedures set forth in the Materials Use Policies..

Providing access to materials does not constitute permission to publish or otherwise authorize use. All publication not covered by fair use or other exceptions is restricted to those who have permission of the copyright holder, which may or may not be Washington University.

If you wish to publish or license Special Collections materials, please contact Special Collections to inquire about copyright status at (314) 935-5495 or (Publish means quotation in whole or in part in seminar or term papers, theses or dissertations, journal articles, monographs, books, digital forms, photographs, images, dramatic presentations, transcriptions, or any other form prepared for a limited or general public.)


2 folders

Biographical Information

Wallace Stevens (October 2, 1879 – August 2, 1955) was an American modernist poet. He was born in Reading, Pennsylvania, educated at Harvard and then New York Law School, and spent most of his life working as an executive for Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company in Hartford, Connecticut. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for his Collected Poems in 1955.

Stevens's first period of writing begins with the 1923 publication of Harmonium, followed by a slightly revised and amended second edition in 1930. His second period occurred in the 11 years immediately preceding the publication of Transport to Summer, when Stevens had written three volumes of poems including Ideas of Order, The Man with the Blue Guitar, and Parts of a World, along with Transport to Summer. His third and final period began with the publication of The Auroras of Autumn in the early 1950s, followed by the release of his Collected Poems in 1954, a year before his death.

Source of Acquisition

Accession number MS-2023-023. Donated by Harris H. Hatcher in memory of his father, Robert E. Hatcher III, March 29, 2023.

Processing Information

Processed by Sarah Schnuriger, June 2023.

Harris Hatcher Collection on Wallace Stevens
Description rules
Language of description

Collecting Area Details

Part of the Manuscripts Collecting Area

Joel Minor
Olin Library, 1 Brookings Drive
MSC 1061-141-B
St. Louis MO 63130 US
(314) 935-5495